eTradeConnect

HomeOur Services

eTradeConnect

eTradeConnect

With the facilitation of the HKMA, HKICL is being tasked to implement a trade finance platform project with seven major banks initially in Hong Kong.  The platform commenced its MVP phase on 27 September 2018.

Company Profile

The Hong Kong Trade Finance Platform Company Limited (HKTFPCL) is a wholly-owned subsidiary established by HKICL Services Limited (HSL) on 6 February 2018.  It is a single-purpose company with an aim to providing trade or trade finance platform to local and overseas participants through a digitalised trade finance platform developed using the distributed ledger technology (DLT).  HKTFPCL is the administrator of the platform.

 

Introduction of eTradeConnect

Trade finance, as an integral part of the local and global trading systems, has been paper-based for as long as trade existed.  Automation or digitalisation of the trade finance processes has proved to be difficult because multiple parties and banks in different jurisdictions are involved in a single trade transaction.  However, the emergence of DLT has made the move into the digital era possible.  Following the success of the proof-of-concept project on the use of DLT to build a trade finance platform in Hong Kong in 2016, a platform using DLT has been developed to replace the inefficient paper-based trade finance system.  Tapping the immutable, transparent and traceable nature of DLT, trade-related documents can be digitised and stored in the platform for transmission and distribution among trade ecosystem participants, including buyers, sellers, import and export banks and logistics service providers, etc in a secure manner.

The platform can not only help move the formerly heavily paper-based trade finance system into the digital era but also achieve various advantages.  These include (i) sharing of trade finance documents among participants on a real-time and "need-to-know" basis for protection of data privacy and security; (ii) enhancement of transparency of transactions which operates on an open account basis so that trading terms of a purchase order become more visible to all relevant participants; (iii) lowering of the risk of fraudulent financing as trade data stored in the platform can be verified and cross-checked; (iv) reduction of the risk of duplicate financing and subsequently encouraging banks to provide trade loans; and (v) standardisation and digitisation of trade documents help reduce reconciliation efforts and human errors.  

 

Go to eTradeConnect Portal

貿易聯動

貿易聯動

在香港金融管理局的推動下,香港銀行同業結算有限公司被委任與7間本地銀行共同推出貿易融資平台。平台於2018年9月27日正式推出。

公司簡介

香港貿易融資平台有限公司成立於2018年2月6日,是香港銀行同業結算服務有限公司全資擁有的私營公司,致力以數碼化的貿易融資平台,為本地及海外參與者提供貿易或貿易融資平台。香港貿易融資平台有限公司是平台的管理人。

 

貿易聯動

貿易融資一直是本地及國際貿易中重要的一環。一直以來,貿易融資業務需要大量的人手及文件處理,每項交易涉及不同地區的多個參與者及銀行,把流程自動化或數碼化甚為困難。然而,區塊鏈技術的出現,把貿易融資推進至數碼化的新紀元。平台是2016年在相關概念驗證項目取得研究成果後搭建,旨在利用區塊鏈技術,提高現時勞動密集型的貿易融資業務的效能。區塊鏈技術具備不可篡改、公開透明及可追溯的特性,因此貿易文件可上載和儲存於這個平台上,並以安全的方式轉送給整個貿易鏈的其他參與者,包括買家、賣家及銀行。

 

平台不但可以把過往處理繁複的貿易融資推進至數碼化的新紀元,同時亦帶來各種優勢:一、實時與需要取得文件的貿易參與者分享交易文件,保障數據私隱和安全性;二、提高記賬貿易的透明度,使訂單的詳細內容更一目了然;三、由於平台上的交易資料可被核實和對比,可降低融資詐騙的風險;四、超額融資的風險下降提高銀行業的放貸意願;五、貿易文件以劃一標準數碼化,省卻核對的時間和減少人為錯誤。  

 

前往貿易聯動