Topping up the e-CNY wallet via the FPS


Topping up the e-CNY wallet via the FPS



e-CNY is a legal tender in digital form issued by the People’s Bank of China. It can be changed into physical renminbi (RMB) cash in 1:1. Hong Kong residents can conveniently set up and use e-CNY wallet and top up their e-CNY wallets via the Faster Payment System (FPS).


How to top up via the FPS


1. After completing the installation and registration for the e-CNY wallet, press “top up” on the operating institution’s e-CNY wallet interface.


Users can top up their e-CNY wallets before making any purchases or top up the relevant amount or shortfall when conducting merchant payment.
2. Enter the top-up amount and press “Next”.
3. Choose “FPS” as the payment method and click “Pay”.
4. Select a supported bank1 in Hong Kong for making payment and the page will automatically switch to the mobile banking App selected by the user. Select the bank account for withdrawal and follow the usual procedures to top up the e-CNY wallet.


In addition to RMB accounts, some banks support top-up with HKD accounts, directly exchange to RMB from HKD account. The exchange rate will be displayed to users for reference in real time.



  1. Please refer to following list of retail banks in Hong Kong that offer FPS top-up services for e-CNY wallets.

Hong Kong banks providing FPS top-up service


Airstar Bank Limited*
Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited*
Bank of Communications (Hong Kong) Limited*
Bank of East Asia, Limited (The)*
China Citic Bank International Limited
China Construction Bank (Asia) Corporation Limited*
Chong Hing Bank Limited
CMB Wing Lung Bank Limited*
Dah Sing Bank, Limited
DBS Bank (Hong Kong) Limited
Fubon Bank (Hong Kong) Limited
Fusion Bank Limited*
Hang Seng Bank, Limited*
Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited (The) *
Industrial and Commercial Bank of China (Asia) Limited*
Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited*
ZA Bank Limited


* Supports top-up with instant conversion of HKD to RMB


Note: in alphabetical order according to the names of the participating institutions